Killer Cells at the Sherman Theatre Review

Volunteering with Sherman 5 at the Sherman Theatre in Cardiff has the benefit of being able to watch performances alongside helping out ushering. I haven’t helped out ushering on a performance since The Borrowers at Christmas time. I have to fit around my health as well as my partner working and childcare. Fortunately Killer Cells was on of an evening that I could Usher for. It stood out for me for personal reasons as I have suffered miscarriages. 

I’m very lucky right now I’m pregnant with my rainbow baby! (A rainbow baby is a baby following a baby loss) I asked Guy O’Donnell the Sherman 5 coordinator if it was ok if I contacted the Miscarriage Association for any leaflets that could be put out on the evening offering support. I felt there may be people coming to see the performance who have been affected by miscarriage, and having something to pick up might be helpful. They did very kindly reply sending me information in the post.
On the evening of ushering a performance, we are asked to come in 60 minutes before it starts. The duty manager then speaks to all of us on that evening, briefing us on the time it starts and finishes, if there is an interval, how many members of the audience are expected and where we will positioned. 

Killer Cells was performed in the Studio. It was intimate atmosphere with a small audience. 

On the Sherman Theatre website the summary of Killer Cells is:

 “A story of life, loss, resilience and hope.

Inspired by first-hand experiences of miscarriage and ectopic pregnancy, Killer Cells will reveal the hidden heartache of miscarriage, all while emphasising the resilience, optimism and hope of those who experience it. “… and afterward, some are strong at the broken places.”

Written and directed by Sara Lewis”



The play had 4 performers, 2 ladies and 2 men, with 5 different characters that included the doctor and yoga teacher both played by the same person, the best friend and the husband and wife. 

The actors and actresses played the roles really well, full of raw emotions that was very heartfelt. I tend to hide mine if I can, I held back, but I could have easily wept recalling my own experiences in my head and seeing what each character was going through. It featured honest scenarios of what it can be like in real life, getting the good news of a positive pregnancy test, the worries of any bleeding and pain experienced, doctors and hospital test results, having others close to you experience a pregnancy while you suffer a miscarriage, and how each the wife and husband delt with the grief. 

I enjoyed the dance movements in between scenes, the humour of the yoga teacher which lifted the mood with such strong upsetting  storyline and the voice over recordings of real life people sharing their personal experiences. 


 

Leave a Reply

