Handmade Sensory Activity Book

Making The book

I’ve seen in shops and online people selling soft material books with interactive features inside.
I’m not great at sewing, infact a total beginner.
I’ve recently invested in a glue gun which I’ve been meaning to do for a while.
So I thought I would combine a little sewing and glueing to make a book, using felt material.
The felt material I have is only A4 size or smaller, so for the outside cover I sewed 2 pieces of it together, to create a large square shape.
I also did another line of sewing, a little smaller than an inch apart from the other line, which creates a binder look to it.

IMG_6963.JPG

I then cut the felt squares out in the size of the book.
You could cut 4 squares out or as many as you want (well within reason that would fit inside the size you have made). I just counted mine and I’ve put 9 in.

IMG_6964.JPG

Once all cut out, I then glued them all together, one by one, on left side, 1cm close to the edge.

IMG_6965.JPG

When they were all glued together, the edge of the felt squares were glued to the binder of the felt cover.

IMG_6958.JPG

IMG_6960.JPG

IMG_6959.JPG

IMG_6961.JPG

The edges made need trimming slightly to make it more tidy.

I may attach a piece of felt onto the back cover and then a piece of Velcro on front side and the piece of felt, to create an open and close fastener.

Haven’t started on the activities yet to put inside, but I will update and show you what I do.

Update
Ok so far,
I made my sons name in felt letters and stuck Velcro to them and Velcro to the book.

IMG_6972.JPG

IMG_6973.JPG

Then at the back of the book, I made a little pocket to store some bits in, and can also practise using buttons.

IMG_6975.JPG

I’ve started to do some weather squares and will be adding the welsh labels such as ‘Mae hi’n heulog. It is sunny.’

IMG_6977.JPG

IMG_6981.JPG

IMG_7021.JPG

Leave a Reply

